AFC teams with the most Super Bowl Championships

A list of the 9 AFC teams that have won the Super Bowl

32 teams play in the NFL, however, since the introduction of the Super Bowl in 1967, only 20 teams have won the championship. Out of these 20 teams (9 AFC & 11 NFC), only 6  of them only have 1 title.

You can bet on the next Super Bowl champion at

In this article, we are going to talk you through the 9 AFC teams that have won the Super Bowl, how many they have won, and how AFC teams can make it into the Super Bowl title match.

You can know lot more here Khatrimaza

What is the AFC?

The NFL took its current form in the early 1960s when the AFL (American Football League) merged with the NFL (National Football League) to become America’s only professional football league.

Within the NFL there are two conferences. There is the NFC (the National Football Conference) which is made up of 16 of the original NFL teams. Then, there is the AFC (the American Football Conference) which is made up of the 13 original teams from the AFL and 3 other teams from the original NFL.

Each Conference is made up of 4 smaller divisions (North, South, East, and West). The winner of each of these divisions and 4 wild cards are entered into the NFL playoffs. All of the AFC teams play on one side of the draw, and the NFC teams play on the other half. The winning team on each side of the playoff is crowned the conference champions.

The two conference champions then play each other to become the NFL champions. This match is called the Super Bowl. There is always one NFC and one AFC team in the Super Bowl match.

Teams that play in the AFC:

  • Baltimore Ravens
  • Buffalo Bills
  • Cincinnati Bengals
  • Cleveland Browns
  • Denver Broncos
  • Houston Texans
  • Indianapolis Colts
  • Jacksonville Jaguars
  • Kansas City Chiefs
  • Las Vegas Raiders
  • Los Angeles Chargers
  • Miami Dolphins
  • New England Patriots
  • New York Jets
  • Pittsburgh Steelers
  • Tennessee Titans

AFC teams that have won the Super Bowl

The Super Bowl was introduced in 1967. Before that, both the NFL and AFL crowned league champions. This list does not include teams that were crowned as champions before the Super Bowl was introduced.

Every team in the AFC has played at least one Super Bowl title match, however, not all of them have won any titles.

In total, 9 of the 16 AFC teams have won at least one Super Bowl title. 8 of these teams actually hold multiple titles.

Let’s take a closer look at which AFC teams have won the Superbowl and how many titles each team has won.

Kansas City Chiefs (2 Title)

Considering nearly half of the AFC teams have never won a Super Bowl, two championships are nothing to be ashamed of. The Chiefs have played in the Super Bowl three times but only won the title twice – in 1969 and 2020.

Baltimore Ravens (2 Titles)

The Ravens are one of only two teams that have a perfect sheet at the Superbowl (the Tampa Bay Buccaneers are the other team). They have played twice and won twice.

Indianapolis Colts (2 Titles)

The Colts won their titles in 1970 and 2006. They also played in the 2009 Super Bowl but lost that year.

Miami Dolphins (2 Titles)

The Dolphins have been AFC conference champions 5 times since the introduction of the Super Bowl but have only won the Super Bowl twice – in 1972 and 1973.

Las Vegas Raiders (formerly the Oakland Raiders) (3 Titles)

The Las Vegas Raiders are the first team on this list to get to three championships. The last time they won the Superbowl was in 1983 (they also won it in 1976 and 1980). They were also AFC champions in 2002.

Denver Broncos (3 Titles)

The Broncos did the double in 1998 and 1999. Then later went on to add a third title to their collection in 2016.

They have won 8 out of the 22 playoffs they have played in. But they have not made it to the playoffs since their last Super Bowl win.

Pittsburgh Steelers (6 Titles)

The Pittsburgh Steelers hold the record for most ever Super Bowl wins with the next team on this list – not just most wins for an AFC team, but most wins in the whole NFL.

They won the Super Bowl in 2009, 2006, 1980, 1979, 1976, and 1975. They have played in the Super Bowl match 8 times since it was introduced.

Visit this site to get latest news and you can also check this site to get more information.

New England Patriots (6 Titles)

Can you write an article about the Super Bowl without talking about Tom Brady and his time with the New England Patriots? Not really…

Tied in the top spot for most Super Bowl titles ever are the New England Patriots. All of these titles were won over the last 20 years thanks to the help of Quarterback Tom Brady and head coach Bill Belichick.

For more information visit this site:  9xmovies

Related Articles

Check Also
Back to top button